Skip to content

Electronic Travel Authorisation (ETA) Scheme


 On 09 March 2023, the Home Office launched a new Electronic Travel Authorisation (ETA) scheme.

This is a new requirement for people who do not need a visa to come to the UK. It gives people permission to travel to the UK, and it is electronically linked to their passports.

The ETA allows people to come to the UK for up to:

  • 6 months for tourism, visiting family and friends, business, or study; and
  • 3 months on the Creative Worker visa concession.

It also allows people to transit through the UK.

From 15 November 2023, Qatari nationals will need an ETA if they are travelling to the UK.

From 22 February 2024, nationals from the following countries will require an ETA when travelling to the UK:

  • Bahrain
  • Jordan
  • Kuwait
  • Oman
  • Saudi Arabia
  • United Arab Emirates

More countries will be added later and the scheme is intended to be fully open by the end of 2024.

By the end of 2024, the ETA scheme will be a requirement worldwide for visitors who do not need a visa for short stays including European visitors.

ETAs will last for two years and can be used to make multiple visits to the UK.

The factsheet explains that ETAs are not required for people who have either:

  • a British or Irish passport;
  • permission to live, work or study in the UK; or
  • a visa to enter the UK.

Those who are legally resident in Ireland, and from a nationality that does not usually require a visa to visit the UK, will not be required to obtain an ETA when travelling to the UK from within the Common Travel Area.

Links to the Guide and Fact Sheet can be accessed here.